Back to school, and new stuff

It’s been a little while since I posted on here. Mostly due to the fact that I am no longer bored at work, but back at school and not bored yet. I, along with four roommates, am subletting a 5ish year old townhouse for four months. It’s a bid of a weird layout– all the bedrooms are in the basement and the living space is on the main floor. Still, it is a “raised” townhouse of sorts– meaning that the basement windows are still sizeable which makes me feel at home.

School has been decent so far. My schedule is pretty lax in that I only have one class in the mornings. Unfortunately, that means lots of night class, but it could be worse. I’m taking four courses, two of which are “double-weighted”, supposedly meaning double the work. That has yet to be seen. In fact, the workload has been pretty light these first two weeks.

My new camera

My new camera

Anyway, I have made my fair share of purchases recently, and I think it’s time I stop before I run out of grocery money. The biggest purchase I made was a new point and shoot camera, because my old Canon SD500 was busted (flash cracked and screen scratched– still good for non-flash photos though.) I purchased a Panasonic DMC-FX50 (see photo) off ebay. I got burned by the duty fees and I knew about the sucky Dollar but I still got a decent deal.

I’m thinking this will suit me until I scrounge up the cash (and the research, and the courage) to dive into the DSLR market. If and when I do that, I want to make sure I can make time to make photography a real hobby (instead of the small one it is now) and I also want to make sure I get the best camera for my money. Right now, for all I know, I can take pretty decent photos with the cameras I’ve had, so I don’t need a DSLR. It would just be sweet to have one and to be able to tinker with all those settings—once I figured them out, that is.

Other purchases this month were groceries (lots of them), ONE textbook(!), and two books: Well Preserved by Mark Fram, on structural heritage preservation methods; and Transit Maps of the World by Mark Ovenden— just eye candy.

Right now, I should be in bed. I’ve got my one and only morning class tomorrow…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

