Bus sitting

Today, I came to an odd realisation. I was on the bus heading home from campus, and as usual it was packed, so I was standing. As the bus travelled along, people gradually petered out and seats started opening up. We were about halfway home when a couple of seats opened up (my roommate was with me so we just took the two that opened up). However, as soon as I sat down, something felt strange. After contemplating it for a little bit, I realized that I almost always sit on the same side of the bus. That is, the driver’s side. This time I was sitting on the other side and it was just weird.

I’m not sure why this is the case, but I have this feeling that it has something to do with how I enter the bus– facing the driver’s side. Or maybe it’s because I’m right-handed that I have a natural inclination to sit on the right side? Whatever it is, it’s a strange phenomenon. I wonder if anyone else has experienced it? Or if it’s been studied? For such an obscure topic, I doubt it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

