Cool maps

I love maps. I can’t help but stare at them in order to absorb the bounty of information they provide. I bought an atlas not for reference, but just because I like leafing through it. Last year I started a small antique map collection.

Now that you know how much I love maps, I’ll tell you that I especially love maps which find innovative and unique ways to display information. That’s why, when I stumbled upon the map below, I just had to share it.

(click to see it in its full glory)

I found it while reading about the North American transportation network on Wikipedia. Partly why I love this map is because I like the snakiness that rail has at such a scale. Also, I absolutely love how you can see most of the outline of the North American continent, despite the fact that the shoreline edges have been completely left off the map. So cool.

I dug a little deeper, and the map is a creation of what appears to be a group of geographers/cartographers who post maps on their collective website, Radical Cartography. They have some other remarkable maps on the site, including this one showing an incredible division of race in Washington, D.C.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

